The world’s premier auctions
 
 
WELCOME TO INVALUABLE
Be the first to know about
the latest online auctions.
Please enter a valid email address (name@host.com)
Sign Up »
PS: We value your privacy
Thank you!
 
 
Want to learn more
about online auctions?
Take a Quick Tour »
 

Signet Rings

 at Auction

The people of Mesopotamia were probably the first to use signet rings starting around the year 3500 B.C. Initially, softer materials like ivory and softer gemstones were used in signet rings, but as technology progressed, harder stones were also used.

Signet rings were usually engraved with a crest in a mirror image. The ring was pressed in hot wax to officiate documents relating to trade and politics, and this crest was engraved in either the gold of the ring itself or in a semi-precious gemstone that was set into the stone.

Today, people don’t need signet rings for that specific purpose, yet the ring is still very popular. For men, it is a very accepted piece of jewelry to own next to their watch and wedding ring. The crest is often replaced by engraved initials or a faceted... Read more Read more

Title
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)

Items in Signet Rings

Get alerts on future signet rings for sale »
Sort By:    
Gents 9ct Gold Signet Rings ( 2 ) In Total. Fully Hallmarked, 12.8 grams. G

February 11, 2016, 10:00 AM GMT
St Annes , United Kingdom

£100 (starting bid)

Bid now »
Lot 2 signets, France approx. 1900s,

February 25, 2016, 11:00 AM CET
Mutterstadt, Germany

€160 (starting bid)

Bid now »
Initial Rings

February 9, 2016, 5:00 PM PST
Las Vegas, NV, USA

$170 (starting bid)

Bid now »
 
Title
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)
Lot title
$0 (starting bid)