Description: ARCHITECTURE - BRIDGES - TELDERS, J.M. Brug te Bommel. Handgeschreven berekening der afmetingen van den Bovenbouw, 1866. Utrecht, 20 Augustus 1866, signed by J.M. Telders, Assistant engineer (last page). Staatsspoorwegen, Lijn H sectie 2. Autograph text with descriptions, dimensions and calculations regarding the bridge in Bommel across the river Waal in the province Gelderland, the Netherlands. Folio. Half calf with paper covered boards. With 27 technical drawings, some in colours, tables with overviews, quantities and calculations and 100 pp with texts. With 3 stamps of the 'Technische Hoogeschool Handbibliotheek afd. Weg- en Waterb.kunde' (first free endpaper and p. 1 and 7), with name and second stamp 'verwijderd' (= removed, on first free endpaper), spine damaged, paper sl. browned, handling creases, else good. (4), 99, (1) pp.
Request more information
The through-truss bridge over the Waal was opened on 31 October 1869 as the Dr. Hupkesbrug, named after the former head of the Dutch Railways. Telders apparently did the research for the railway bridge, presenting his calculations for the dimensions and the construction in very neat handwriting, illustrated with charming hand-coloured designs. Telders, 24 years old, was one of two engineers to build the bridge. In 1884 he was appointed Professor in Hydraulic Engineering in Delft. In 1933 a similar bridge was constructed next to the railway bridge, which inspired Martinus Nijhoff to write his poem 'De moeder de vrouw' (1934) famous - at least - for its first line: 'Ik ging naar Bommel om de brug te zien'. The bridge was rebuilt in 1996 as the Martinus Nijhoffbrug.